The Best Lawyers in Australia Infographic_2024

The Best Lawyers in Australia™ 2024 names 34 Jones Day lawyers

The 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in Australia™ has recognized 34 lawyers in 32 practice areas from across Jones Day's four Australian offices. Five lawyers were named "Ones To Watch."

Best Lawyers® compiles its listings at the conclusion of a months-long peer review process, during which its researchers ask leading attorneys from specific practice areas and geographic regions about the professional abilities of their colleagues.

In addition, the publication awarded two Jones Day lawyers 2024 "Lawyer of the Year (LOTY)" status. Best Lawyers® selects only one attorney in each practice category and designated geographic region as their "Lawyer of the Year," making this recognition especially noteworthy.

The following is a complete list of Jones Day lawyers recognized by The Best Lawyers in Australia™:

2024 Lawyers of the Year

  • Joanne Dwyer: Funds Management (Brisbane)
  • Darren Murphy: Oil and Gas Law (Melbourne)


  • John Cooper: Alternative Dispute Resolution; Class Action Litigation; Construction/Infrastructure Law; International Arbitration; Litigation
  • Joanne Dwyer: Financial Institutions; Funds Management; Superannuation Law
  • Dan Howard: Energy Law; Mining Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law; Water Law
  • Annie Leeks: Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Isaac West: Agriculture and Rural Affairs; Commercial Law; Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law


  • Simon Bowden: Tax Law
  • Matthew Bull: Competition Law
  • Courtney Dixon: Commercial Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Richard Hoad: Information Technology Law; Intellectual Property Law; Litigation
  • Tim L'Estrange: Corporate/Governance Practice; Insolvency and Reorganisation Law
  • Lauren Moses: Tax Law
  • Darren Murphy: Oil and Gas Law
  • Dr. Niv Tadmore: Tax Law
  • Lisa Taliadoros: Biotechnology Law; Intellectual Property Law


  • Adam Conway: Energy Law; Mining Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law
  • Adam Salter: Information Technology Law
  • Evan Sylwestrzak: Litigation
  • Lucas Wilk: Insolvency and Reorganisation Law; Investment Law; Litigation


  • Jennifer Chambers: Litigation
  • Mark Crean: Corporate/Governance Practice; Defamation and Media Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Private Equity Law; Telecommunications Law; Investment Law; Commercial Law; Corporate Law
  • Roger Dobson: Distressed Investing and Debt Trading; Insolvency and Reorganisation Law; Banking and Finance Law
  • James Ebert: Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • John Emmerig: Class Action Litigation; Government Practice; Litigation; Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Steven Fleming: Litigation; Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Katie Higgins: Banking and Finance Law; Insolvency and Reorganisation Law; Litigation
  • Anthony Muratore: Biotechnology Law; Intellectual Property Law; Litigation
  • Hemang Shah: Commercial Law
  • Prudence Smith: Regulatory Practice; Competition Law
  • Tony Wassaf: Energy Law; Mining Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law

2024 Ones to Watch

  • Daniel Chaney: Construction/Infrastructure Law (Perth)
  • Tom Davey: Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law (Sydney)
  • Alexandra Fraser: Tax Law (Melbourne)
  • Eunice Lim: Litigation (Brisbane)
  • Sally Stitz: Insolvency and Reorganization Law (Brisbane)
Jones Day is a global law firm with more than 2,400 lawyers in 40 offices across five continents. The Firm is distinguished by: a singular tradition of client service; the mutual commitment to, and the seamless collaboration of, a true partnership; formidable legal talent across multiple disciplines and jurisdictions; and shared professional values that focus on client needs.