Insights

Delaware Update: LLC Managers Have Fiduciary Duties

In a recent decision, Vice Chancellor J. Travis Laster of the Delaware Court of Chancery held that limited liability company managers are subject to "default" fiduciary duties under the Delaware Limited Liability Act. Feeley v. NHAOGC, LLC, C.A. No. 7304-VCL (Del. Ch. Nov. 28, 2012). This is the first time the issue has been addressed since the Delaware Supreme Court declined to resolve it in Gatz Props., LLC v. Auriga Capital Corp. 2012 Del. LEXIS 577 (Del. Nov. 7, 2012) ("Auriga II").

The Decision

In a limited liability company dispute, a member claimed that the manager's gross negligence and willful misconduct breached default fiduciary duties. Because the operating agreement was silent on the subject, the plaintiff had to establish that the Delaware LLC Act imposed fiduciary duties on LLC managers or managing members.

The LLC Act, however, does not explicitly do so, and the Delaware Supreme Court has not definitively addressed this question. Numerous Court of Chancery decisions have held that default fiduciary duties do apply to managers of LLCs, most recently in Auriga Capital Corp. v. Gatz Props, LLC 40 A.3d 839 (Del. Ch. 2012) ("Auriga I"). That finding, however, was held to be dictum by the Delaware Supreme Court in Auriga II, which, in dicta of its own, noted that reasonable minds could differ about whether the LLC Act imposes default fiduciary duties. In the wake of Auriga II, Vice Chancellor Laster concluded that the Act does in fact impose default fiduciary duties.

The court relied on several provisions of the Delaware LLC Act and on pre-Auriga II decisions. First, section 18-1104 provides for equitable protection. Applying traditional principles of equity, Vice Chancellor Laster concluded that the manager of an LLC is a fiduciary because it has more than an arm's-length, contractual relationship with the LLC's members. Second, the court noted that section 18-1101(c), which expressly authorizes fiduciary duties to be expanded, restricted, or eliminated in operating agreements, "support[s] the existence of default fiduciary duties, because otherwise there would be nothing for the operating company agreement to expand, restrict or eliminate." Third, Vice Chancellor Laster noted that this language mirrors that of the Delaware Limited Partnership Act, which itself imposes fiduciary duties on general partners of Delaware limited partnerships. Finally, the court found further support for the existence of default fiduciary duties in prior Delaware Chancery Court decisions.

Conclusion

As Vice Chancellor Laster acknowledged, there will be continuing uncertainty regarding the existence of default fiduciary duties in the LLC context until the Delaware Supreme Court finally resolves the issue. Feeley would be an ideal test case for the Delaware Supreme Court because it directly presents the issue of whether, in the absence of applicable contract language, LLC managers are subject to fiduciary duties under the LLC Act.

However, until the Delaware Supreme Court resolves this issue, practitioners drafting LLC agreements should keep Feeley in mind and be sure to expressly disclaim fiduciary duties if that is the intent in the particular situation. Given Auriga I and Feeley, silence on this issue risks the imposition of default fiduciary duties.

Lawyer Contacts

For further information, please contact your principal Firm representative or one of the lawyers listed below. General email messages may be sent using our "Contact Us" form, which can be found at www.jonesday.com.

Louis A. Chaiten
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7244
lachaiten@jonesday.com

Walter W. Davis
Atlanta
+1.404.581.8517
wwdavis@jonesday.com

Michael L. Davitt
Dallas
+1.214.969.2938
mldavitt@jonesday.com

James P. Dougherty
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7302
jpdougherty@jonesday.com

Philip Le B. Douglas
New York
+1.212.326.3611
pldouglas@jonesday.com

Robert S. Faxon
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7104
rfaxon@jonesday.com

N. Scott Fletcher
Houston
+1.832.239.3846
sfletcher@jonesday.com

William S. Freeman
Silicon Valley
+1.650.687.4164
wfreeman@jonesday.com

Lyle G. Ganske
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7264
lganske@jonesday.com

Thomas S. Jones
Pittsburgh
+1.412.394.7924
tsjones@jonesday.com

Eric Landau
Irvine
+1.949.553.7517
elandau@jonesday.com

Andrew M. Levine
New York
+1.212.326.8319
amlevine@jonesday.com

Robert C. Micheletto
New York
+1.212.326.3690
rmicheletto@jonesday.com

Robert A. Profusek
New York
+1.212.326.3800
raprofusek@jonesday.com

Geoffrey J. Ritts
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7065
gjritts@jonesday.com

John C. Tang
San Francisco
+1.415.875.5892
jctang@jonesday.com

Patricia J. Villareal
Dallas
+1.214.969.2973
pjvillareal@jonesday.com

Ashley E. Behan
New York
+1.212.326.3422
aebehan@jonesday.com

Marjorie P. Duffy
Columbus
+1.614.281.3655
mpduffy@jonesday.com

Jones Day publications should not be construed as legal advice on any specific facts or circumstances. The contents are intended for general information purposes only and may not be quoted or referred to in any other publication or proceeding without the prior written consent of the Firm, to be given or withheld at our discretion. To request reprint permission for any of our publications, please use our "Contact Us" form, which can be found on our web site at www.jonesday.com. The mailing of this publication is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. The views set forth herein are the personal views of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the Firm.

We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details of the cookies and other tracking technologies we use and instructions on how to disable them are set out in our Cookies Policy. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies.