Insights

NLRB Extends Date For Mandatory Postings to April 30, 2012

The National Labor Relations Board on August 30, 2011 published a final rule requiring most private employers in the United States to post a notice informing employees of their right to join labor unions and engage in other concerted activities under the National Labor Relations Act. Although the mandatory notice was originally required to be posted by November 14, 2011, the Board previously postponed the effective date of the posting requirement until January 31, 2012. The Board on December 23, at the request of a federal judge hearing a legal challenge to the rule, again postponed the effective date of the rule, this time until April 30, 2012. The required posting is described in detail in our Jones Day Commentary titled "NLRB Issues Rule Mandating Notices Informing Employees About Rights to Organize," dated September 2011 and available on the Jones Day web site.

Lawyer Contacts

For further information, please contact your principal Firm representative or one of the lawyers listed below. General email messages may be sent using our "Contact Us" form, which can be found at www.jonesday.com.

Willis K. Goldsmith
New York
+1.212.326.3649
wgoldsmith@jonesday.com

George S. Howard, Jr.
San Diego
+1.858.314.1166
gshoward@jonesday.com

F. Curt Kirschner, Jr.
San Francisco
+1.415.875.5769
ckirschner@jonesday.com

Brian W. Easley
Chicago
+1.312.269.4230
beasley@jonesday.com

G. Roger King
Columbus
+1.614.281.3874
rking@jonesday.com

Stanley Weiner
Cleveland
+1.216.586.7763
sweiner@jonesday.com

Richard F. Shaw
Pittsburgh
+1.412.394.7962
rfshaw@jonesday.com

Donald J. Munro
Washington
+1.202.879.3922
dmunro@jonesday.com

Lawrence C. DiNardo
Chicago
+1.312.269.4306
lcdinardo@jonesday.com

Jessica Kastin
New York
+1.212.326.3923
jkastin@jonesday.com

Patricia A. Dunn
Washington 
+1.202.879.5425
pdunn@jonesday.com

Jones Day publications should not be construed as legal advice on any specific facts or circumstances. The contents are intended for general information purposes only and may not be quoted or referred to in any other publication or proceeding without the prior written consent of the Firm, to be given or withheld at our discretion. To request reprint permission for any of our publications, please use our "Contact Us" form, which can be found on our web site at www.jonesday.com. The mailing of this publication is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. The views set forth herein are the personal views of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the Firm.

We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details of the cookies and other tracking technologies we use and instructions on how to disable them are set out in our Cookies Policy. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies.