Insights

little_jonathon_SOCIAL

The New Data Privacy Risks of the EU Ruling Invalidating the US Privacy Shield

EDT: 9am-10am | BST: 2pm - 3pm | CET: 3pm - 4pm | GST: 5pm-6pm

It has been several weeks since the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) ruling invalidated the EU-US Privacy Shield scheme and called into question the safeguards provided through the Standard Contractual Clauses (SCC). Organisations need to continue to transfer data outside of the European Economic Area, but face the dilemma of how to do so in a defensible manner without facing regulatory sanctions.

Jonathon Little, a partner in Jones Day's Cybersecurity, Privacy & Data Protection Practice, will join Rebecca Perry CIPP/US/G (Director of Strategic Partnerships at Exterro) and Robert Grosvenor (Managing Director at Alvarez and Marsal) to discuss the consequences of this ruling and what steps your organisation can take to construct a defensible position when transferring personal data outside of the EEA, including:

  • How to comply with the GDPR when transferring personal data outside the EEA using alternative mechanisms
  • How to interpret the impact of the CJEU ruling on the use of SCCs
  • Practical measures organisations can take to reduce their exposure and manage risks whilst maintaining established cross-border data flows

To register, please visit the event page.

We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details of the cookies and other tracking technologies we use and instructions on how to disable them are set out in our Cookies Policy. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies.